Southwest Region Nonmotorized Transportation Plan 2020

Nonmotorized transportation, with facilities designed primarily for pedestrians and bicyclists (paved shoulders, bike 2020_southwest_region_nonmotorized_plan_002.jpglanes, and shared use paths), is a critical element of an integrated transportation system. A connected regional system of nonmotorized facilities will help to increase mobility choices, relieve traffic congestion, reduce air pollution and fuel consumption, promote physical activity and healthy lifestyles, and improve quality of life.

Many communities in southwest Michigan aspire to provide nonmotorized facilities for their residents and visitors and have been working to establish a connected regional system. This plan provides a nonmotorized
transportation system vision for the Michigan Department of Transportation’s (MDOT) Southwest Region, which includes Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, and Van Buren counties. This plan does not replace local, metropolitan or county plans; in fact, it builds and depends upon these local plans and initiatives.

Download the plan.

Maps from the Plan

Southwest Michigan Region

Berrien County 

Branch County 
Calhoun County 

Cass County 

Kalamazoo County

St. Joseph County 
Van Buren County 

You can view other MDOT Region Nonmotorized Plans here