Log In | Register |
Search: Go

About Us Home>SWMPC Governing Board>WL History

Return to Home PagePrintable View of This Page

History of the Welch-Lackey Award

The Southwest Michigan Planning Commission presents the Welch-Lackey Leadership Award each year in honor of former Commissioners George A. Welch and William F. Lackey.  These men served the Commission in times of great personal difficulties, yet continued throughout to represent the spirit of public service and to further the goals of intergovernmnetal cooperation.  Their contribution to the communities that they served embodies the leadership qualities essential to the preservation of our democratic form of government.


The recipient of the Welch-Lackey Leadership Award is selected in the fall of each year from nominees selected by the SWMPC management.  Each Commissioner will be requested to vote, by secret ballot, for the nominee who best exemplifies service, leadership and intergovernmental cooperation as the award embodies.

This page last updated on 4/29/2008.
Southwest Michigan Planning Commission  
376 West Main Street  Suite 130  Benton Harbor, MI 49022-3651
Phone: 269.925.1137  Fax: 269.925.0288  

Picture Library

Document Library