Log In | Register |
Search: Go

About Us Home>SWMPC Governing Board>WL Current Recipient

Return to Home PagePrintable View of This Page

Welch-Lackey Award



The Southwest Michigan Planning Commission has selected Richard Remus to honor with the 2016 Welch-Lackey Leadership Award.

At the April 19th meeting of the SWMPC Board, held at Southwest Michigan College, John Egelhaaf Executive Director at SWMPC honored Richard Remus with the Welch-Lackey Leadership Award.

In announcing the award, John Egelhaaf, SWMPC Executive Director, commented, "Mr. Remus has been a very active board member who has stepped in to asset the planning commission on many occasions. He has done exceptional work with his help restructuring the SWMPC financial reporting as well as his excellent representation of the SWMPC on the Regional Prosperity Initiative.”

Mr. Remus has served as SWMPC Citizen Representative since 2007. He also has served as SWMPC Alternate Treasurer. He is active on the Cornerstone Chamber of Commerce board and Lake Michigan College Alumni Board. He also is a dedicated husband and father to his family.

The SWMPC is the regional planning agency for Berrien, Cass and Van Buren Counties and presents the Welch-Lackey Leadership Award each year in honor of former Commissioners George A. Welch and William F. Lackey. These men served the Commission in times of great personal difficulties, yet continued throughout to represent the spirit of public service and to further the goals of intergovernmental cooperation. Their contribution to the communities they served embodies the leadership qualities essential to the preservation of our citizen form of government.

Board members vote by secret ballot from nominees submitted by the SWMPC staff as members currently exemplifying such qualities.



This page last updated on 5/18/2016.
Southwest Michigan Planning Commission  
376 West Main Street  Suite 130  Benton Harbor, MI 49022-3651
Phone: 269.925.1137  Fax: 269.925.0288  

Picture Library

Document Library