Region 8 - Regional Prosperity Initiative

Region 8 Prosperity Plan [Click to open page downloads/rpi_plan_final.pdf in a new window
Region 8 Prosperity Plan

Region 8 RPI LogoMichigan Governor Rick Snyder created the Regional Prosperity Initiative to encourage regional private, public and non-profit partners to create vibrant regional economies. The Regional Prosperity Initiative created ten prosperity regions across the state.


The Regional Prosperity Initiative's Region 8 includes seven counties in Southwest Michigan — Berrien, Branch, Cass, Calhoun, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, and Van Buren Counties.


In 2014 the Southwest Michigan Regional Prosperity Collaborative (RPI Region 8) Committee was formed with representation from regional private, public and non-profit partners in adult education, workforce development, economic development, transportation, and higher education organizations.


The Southwest Michigan Regional Prosperity Collaborative Committee created the Southwest Michigan Prosperity Region 5-Year Prosperity Plan as an economic development blueprint. And a year later they issued Volume 2.


Asset Management Summits:   

A Winter Asset Management Summit took place on February 7th, 2020. This summit took place at the Van Buren Conference Center in Lawrence Michigan. 

Spring 2019 Summary Report for Michigan


Lawrence and Kalamazoo Springs Summits 2019 


The notes from the all the spring summits in spring of 2019 can be found here or  


For more information please visit the Michigan Infrastructure Councils page here:


Please see the Southwest Michigan Prosperity Initiative page for committee meeting information.


Map of Region 8


<iframe src="" width="100%" height="500px" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen allow="geolocation"></iframe>