

Minutes

Southwest Michigan Planning Commission FULL COMMISSION MEETING Tuesday, June 20, 2023, 9:30 a.m.

Meeting Held in Person at Cass County Road Commission

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Marchetti, Roseann, Chair, Cass County Commissioner Doroh, Kurt, Vice Chair, Van Buren County Commissioner Preston, Linda, Secretary, Cass County Representative Gundersen, Kristen, Alternate Secretary, Berrien County Representative Remus, Richard, Treasurer, Berrien County Representative Petersen, Jan, Alternate Treasurer, Van Buren County Representative Catherman, Rick, Van Buren County Representative Curran, Jim, Berrien County Commissioner DeLong, Don, Cass County Representative Dodd, James, Cass County Representative Fette, Dan, Berrien County Representative Freehling, Teri Sue, Berrien County Commissioner Leary, Tina, Van Buren County Representative Pantaleo, Paul, Berrien County Representative Patterson-Gladney, Gail, Van Buren County Commissioner Snoeyink, Sarah, Ex Officio Economic Development Stauffer, Dick, Berrien County Representative Torzynski, Robert, Pokagon Band Representative Tyler, Doug, Cass County Representative Wood, Gary, Berrien County Representative Wuerfel, Julie, Berrien County Commissioner

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Hanson, Sandra, Van Buren County Representative Newton, Matthew, Van Buren County Representative

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Roseann Marchetti called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. and led those present in the Pledge of Allegiance. Office Manager, Maria Vettraino took roll and a quorum was present.

2. ACCEPTANCE AND/OR REVISIOIN OF CONSENT AGENDA

Chair Roseann Marchetti presented the Consent Agenda. Kurt Doroh moved to "ACCEPT THE CONSENT AGENDA." Linda Preston seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

3. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Director Egelhaaf presented the Executive Director's Report.

Gary Wood inquired on the Michigan Infrastructure Office (MIO) Coordination for IIJA Assistance. Director Egelhaaf explained the draft of the process of submitting ideas to the SWMPC and how those submissions would be evaluated. Richard Remus asked how much the SWMPC Board will be involved. Egelhaaf suggested a possible sub-committee of members who would be interested in reviewing the projects/ideas and putting scores to them. Sarah Snoeyink wondered if the final version of the detailed scoring matrix would be available, to which Director Egelhaaf responded yes.

Linda Preston welcomed our new members, Tina Leary and Sarah Snoeyink, and they introduced themselves to the Board.

Richard Remus inquired on housing updates. Director Egelhaaf shared information about the Michigan Statewide Housing Plan and how that process has now moved into a phase involving regional input and decision-making. Egelhaaf is involved in this regional phase.

James Dodd moved to "ACCEPT THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT." Gail Patterson-Gladney seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

4. 2022 SWMPC ANNUAL AUDIT

Alex Schaeffer from Kruggel Lawton CPAs presented SWMPC's 2022 Annual Audit that was approved by the Executive Committee on June 6, 2023. Schaeffer went over the opinion statement, auditor responsibilities, financial statements, and funding trends.

5. 2022 SWMPC ANNUAL REPORT

Director Egelhaaf presented the 2022 SWMPC Annual Report. Richard Remus asked about the distribution of the annual report. Egelhaaf stated it will be shared with other planning regions throughout the state, along with the availability on the SWMPC website. Other members encouraged wider distribution of the Report. Egelhaaf will pursue a broader sharing of the Report.

Kurt Doroh moved to "APPROVE 2022 SWMPC ANNUAL REPORT." Dick Stauffer seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

6. NATS 2050 LONG RANGE PLAN

Director Egelhaaf presented the NATS 2050 Long Range Plan, explaining the planning areas, the transportation planning process, and SWMPC's responsibilities within this plan.

7. RESOLUTION 2023-5

Chair Marchetti requested a motion to approve Resolution 2023-5, NATS 2050 Long Range Plan. Gail Patterson-Gladney moved to "APPROVE RESOLUTION 2023-5." James Dodd seconded the motion, which carried unanimously by roll call vote.

8. RESOLUTION 2023-6

Director Egelhaaf went over the Cass County Air Quality Conformity Analysis. He explained the requirements and process of the analysis, and the result of conformity being met in both Cass and Berrien counties. There was discussion on the possible effects of drift from Chicago. An explanation was given that the Resolution is merely an acknowledgement that the projects within the 2050 NATS Long Range Plan will not have an adverse impact on air quality. Drift from outside the region does not play a role in that analysis.

Dick Stauffer moved to "APPROVE RESOLUTION 2023-6." Richard Remus seconded the motion, which carried by roll call vote. A single dissenting vote was recorded from Paul Pantaleo.

9. RESOLUTION 2023-7

James Dodd moved to "APPROVE RESOLUTION 2023-7." Kristen Gundersen seconded the motion, which carried by roll call vote. A single dissenting vote was recorded from Paul Pantaleo.

10. PUBLIC COMMENT

None

11. PRIVILEGE OF THE FLOOR

Teri Sue Freehling announced MIHI's initial award of a ROBIN broadband grant to Midwest Energy and Communications (MEC), which will provide funds for broadband infrastructure covering unserved areas in Cass, Berrien, and Van Buren counties.

Linda Preston would like to recognize and create a resolution for past Board members, Don Hanson and Yemi Akinwale. Director Egelhaaf will create a resolution for this recognition. Chair Marchetti requested a motion to create a resolution to acknowledge Don Hanson and Yemi Akinwale. Linda Preston moved to "CREATE A RESOLUTION TO ACKNOWLEDGE BOARD MEMBERS, DON HANSON AND YEMI AKINWALE." Kurt Doroh seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

Dick Stauffer shared that the long-shuttered Schuler's Restaurant in Lincoln Township is being demolished and will be replaced by a Drive & Shine.

Rick Catherman wondered about possible new insights on Palisades and Director Egelhaaf and Sarah Snoeyink responded with updates.

12. ADJOURNMENT

Teri Sue Freehling moved to adjourn the meeting. Gail Patterson-Gladney supported the motion. The Chair declared the meeting adjourned at 10:45 am.

Respectfully submitted by:

K. John Egelhaaf, AICP

Date: June 20, 2023