

# **Minutes**

Southwest Michigan Planning Commission FULL COMMISSION MEETING Tuesday, February 25, 2025, at 9:30 a.m.

Meeting held in person at Van Buren ISD Conference Center

# **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Doroh, Kurt, Chair, Van Buren County Commissioner Curran, Jim, Vice Chair, Berrien County Commissioner Sinclair, Kim, Treasurer, Van Buren County Representative Preston, Linda, Secretary, Cass County Representative Catherman, Rick, Van Buren County Representative DeLong, Don, Cass County Representative Dodd, James, Cass County Representative Durm-Hiatt, Marge, Berrien County Representative Engle, Roger, Van Buren County Representative Freehling, Teri Sue, Berrien County Commissioner Gundersen, Kristen, Alternate Secretary, Berrien County Representative Hanson, Sandra, Alternate Treasurer, Van Buren County Representative Klemesrud, Kathryn, Berrien County Representative Leary, Tina, Van Buren County Representative Marchetti, Roseann, Cass County Commissioner Multhauf, Katie, Van Buren County Economic Development Ex-Officio Pantaleo, Paul, Berrien County Representative Patterson-Gladney, Gail, Van Buren County Commissioner Stauffer, Dick, Berrien County Representative Torzynski, Robert, Pokagon Band Representative Wood, Gary, Berrien County Representative Wuerfel, Julie, Berrien County Commissioner

# **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Ellspermann, Thomas, Berrien County Representative Fette, Dan, Berrien County Representative Kohring, Peg, Berrien County Representative Northrop, Alan, Cass County Commissioner Tyler, Doug, Cass County Representative

# **OTHERS PRESENT:**

Vettraino, Maria, SWMPC Office Manager Youngstedt, Glen, Lincoln Township Supervisor

### 1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Kurt Doroh called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. and led those present in the Pledge of Allegiance. Office Manager, Maria Vettraino, took roll call, and a quorum was present.

#### 2. ACCEPTANCE AND/OR REVISION OF CONSENT AGENDA

Chair Doroh presented the Consent Agenda. Rick Catherman moved to "ACCEPT THE CONSENT AGENDA." Paul Pantaleo seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

# 3. NEW MEMBER INTRODUCTIONS

Chair Doroh shared that the Board has four new members. The new member present, Kathryn Klemesrud introduced herself to the Board. Members introduced themselves to Kathryn.

#### 4. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Director Egelhaaf explained the purpose of the report and opened the floor for questions and comments.

Dick Stauffer asked for an update on the Materials Management Plan. Egelhaaf gave an overview and purpose of the Materials Management Planning Committee. Discussion ensued regarding tipping fees and also when the counties should expect reimbursement. It was shared that EGLE will not reimburse expenses incurred before October 1<sup>st</sup>, 2024.

Marge Durm-Hiatt inquired about the AI policy. Egelhaaf share his work on creating an AI policy framework to share with other units of government.

Marge Durm-Hiatt moved to "ACCEPT THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT." James Dodd seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

#### 5. PERFECT ATTENDANCE RECOGNITION

Chair Doroh acknowledged the Board members with perfect attendance in 2024. Those members included: Rick Catherman, James Dodd, Kurt Doroh, Teri Sue Freehling, Kristen Gundersen, Sandra Hanson, Paul Pantaleo, Gail Patterson-Gladney, Linda Preston, and Robert Torzynski.

### 6. PER DIEM AND PROFILE FORMS

Chair Doroh explained the per diem and profile forms and told the Board to give the completed forms to Office Manager, Maria Vettraino.

# 7. 2025 SWMPC BUDGET

Director Egelhaaf presented and went into detail on the 2025 SWMPC Budget. Questions and comments were then encouraged.

Kim Sinclair moved to "APPROVE 2025 SWMPC BUDGET." Don DeLong seconded the motion, which carried unanimously by roll call vote.

#### 8. NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

Chair Doroh proposed the new slate of executive committee officers as follows: Chair – Kurt Doroh; Vice Chair – Jim Curran; Treasurer – Kimberly Sinclair; Alternate Treasurer – Sandra Hanson; Secretary – Linda Preston; Alternate Secretary – Kristen Gundersen.

Rick Catherman moved to "CLOSE THE SLATE OF OFFICERS." Gail Patterson-Gladney seconded the motion, which carried unanimously. Dick Stauffer moved to "APPROVE THE NOMINATED OFFICERS." James Dodd seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

#### 9. 2025-1 SIGNATORY RESOLUTION

Julie Wuerfel moved to "APPROVE 2025-1 SIGNATORY RESOLUTION." Sandra Hanson seconded the motion, which carried unanimously by roll call vote.

# 10. RESOLUTION 2025-2 RECOMMEND COUNTY CONTRIBUTION

Marge Durm-Hiatt moved to "APPROVE RESOLUTION 2025-2 RECOMMEND COUNTY CONTRIBUTION." Rick Catherman seconded the motion, which carried unanimously by roll call vote.

# 11. PUBLIC COMMENT

No public comment.

#### 12. PRIVILEGE OF THE FLOOR

Katie Multhauf shared information on Market One's event in which 75+ businesses will be in attendance.

Kim Sinclair said the Conservation Districts are now selling tree seedlings.

Dick Stauffer and Paul Pantaleo shared their enjoyment for the details Egelhaaf presented on the budget. Linda Preston praised Egelhaaf for the Commission's

diversification on projects. Gary Wood explained how the Commission has successfully captured funding available.

# **13. ADJOURNMENT**

Teri Sue Freehling moved to adjourn the meeting. Julie Wuerfel supported the motion. The Chair declared the meeting adjourned at 10:51 am.

Respectfully submitted by:

K. John Egelhaaf, AICP

Date: February 25, 2025