

Minutes

Southwest Michigan Planning Commission FULL COMMISSION MEETING Tuesday, February 21, 2023, 9:30 a.m.

Meeting Held in Person at Cass County Road Commission

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Marchetti, Roseann, Chair, Cass County Commissioner Doroh, Kurt, Vice Chair, Van Buren County Commissioner Preston, Linda, Secretary, Cass County Representative (arrived at 9:35 am) Gundersen, Kristen, Alternate Secretary, Berrien County Representative Remus, Richard, Treasurer, Berrien County Representative Petersen, Jan, Alternate Treasurer, Van Buren County Representative Catherman, Rick, Van Buren County Representative Curran, Jim, Berrien County Commissioner DeLong, Don, Cass County Representative Dodd, James, Cass County Representative Fette, Dan, Berrien County Representative Freehling, Teri Sue, Berrien County Commissioner Hanson, Sandra, Van Buren County Representative Newton, Matthew, Van Buren County Representative Pantaleo, Paul, Berrien County Representative Patterson-Gladney, Gail, Van Buren County Commissioner Torzynski, Robert, Pokagon Band Representative Tyler, Doug, Cass County Representative Wuerfel, Julie, Berrien County Commissioner

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Stauffer, Dick, Berrien County Representative Wood, Gary, Berrien County Representative

GUESTS PRESENT:

Durm Hiatt, Marge, Berrien County Representative (prospective replacement for Jim Stover)

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Roseann Marchetti called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. and led those present in the Pledge of Allegiance. Office Manager, Maria Vettraino took roll and a quorum was present.

2. ACCEPTANCE AND/OR REVISIOIN OF CONSENT AGENDA

Chair Marchetti presented the Consent Agenda. Kurt Doroh moved to "ACCEPT THE CONSENT AGENDA." Linda Preston seconded. A roll call vote was taken, the motion carried unanimously.

3. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Director Egelhaaf presented the Executive Director's Report and opened the floor for questions. Paul Pantaleo asked who is taking the lead regarding Broadband. Egelhaaf responded that it seems the leadership first comes from the counties, but there is no single pivot point where all this is happening.

Gail Patterson-Gladney wanted more information on MI DNR SPARK recreation grants, specifically for Covert township. Director Egelhaaf will forward application information to Patterson-Gladney. Roseann Marchetti asked when the next round will open up for the SPARK grants. Egelhaaf responded around June 2023.

Linda Preston moved to "ACCEPT THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT." Gail Patterson-Gladney seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

4. PERFECT ATTENDANCE RECOGNITION

Chair Roseann Marchetti acknowledged Board members with perfect attendance in 2022. Those members include Rick Catherman, Jim Curran, Don DeLong, James Dodd, Kristen Gundersen, Roseann Marchetti, Paul Pantaleo, Jan Petersen, Linda Preston, Doug Tyler, Gary Wood, and Julie Wuerfel.

5. PER DIEM AND PROFILE FORMS

Director Egelhaaf asked those who have any changes in their information to fill out a new profile and per diem form.

6. 2023 SWMPC BUDGET

Director Egelhaaf presented the 2023 budget. Jim Dodd moved to "APPROVE 2023 SWMPC BUDGET." Don DeLong seconded the motion, which carried unanimously by roll call vote.

7. NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

Chair Marchetti proposed the new slate of executive committee officers as follows: Chair – Roseann Marchetti; Vice Chair – Kurt Doroh; Treasurer – Rich Remus; Alternate Treasurer – Jan Petersen; Secretary – Linda Preston; Alternate Secretary – Kristen Gundersen. Marchetti called for any other nominations; there were none.

Teri Sue Freehling moved to "CLOSE THE SLATE OF OFFICERS AND CAST A UNANIMOUS BALLOT." Jim Dodd seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

8. 2023-3 SIGNATORY RESOLUTION

Chair Marchetti read the 2023-3 Signatory Resolution. Gail Patterson-Gladney moved to "APPROVE 2023-3 SIGNATORY RESOLUTION." Matthew Newton seconded the motion, which carried unanimously by roll call vote.

9. 2023-4 RECOMMENDED COUNTY CONTRIBUTION RESOLUTION

Chair Marchetti read the 2023-4 Recommended County Contribution Resolution. Paul Pantaleo moved to "APPROVE RESOLUTION 2023-4 RECOMMENDED COUNTY CONTRIBUTION." Sandra Hanson seconded the motion, which carried unanimously by roll call vote.

10. PLANNER PRESENTATION

Director Egelhaaf presented on Broadband. He spoke on the gaps in coverage, the challenges, and what is in play right now. Marge Durm-Hiatt asked who can challenge the FCC maps. Egelhaaf said an individual can challenge, the state has submitted a bulk challenge, and counties can submit bulk challenges. Dan Fette spoke on Berrien County challenge submittals. Linda Preston asked about challenge deadlines. Egelhaaf said the challenge submittals are ongoing. He then talked about funding and what is on the horizon.

11. PUBLIC COMMENT

None

12. PRIVILEGE OF THE FLOOR

None

13. ADJOURNMENT

Gail Patterson-Gladney moved to adjourn the meeting. Kurt Doroh supported the motion. The Chair declared the meeting adjourned at 11:00 am.

Respectfully submitted by:

K. John Egelhaaf, AICP

Date: February 21, 2023