MINUTES

Southwest Michigan Planning Commission
Full Commission Meeting
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 9:30 a.m.
Van Buren ISD Conference Center
490 South Paw Paw Street, Lawrence, MI 49064

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Hanson, Don, Chair, Van Buren County Commissioner Freehling, Teri Sue, Vice Chair, Berrien County Commissioner Akinwale, Yemi, Treasurer, Berrien County Representative Preston, Linda, Secretary, Cass County Representative Gundersen, Kristen, Alternate Secretary, Berrien County Representative Remus, Richard, Alternate Treasurer, Berrien County Representative Curran, Jim, Berrien County Commissioner Doroh, Kurt, Van Buren County Commissioner Foerster, David, Van Buren County Representative Hanson, Sandra, Van Buren County Representative Judy Janssen, Van Buren County Commissioner Laylin, Leon, Cass County Representative Rosann Marchetti, Cass County Commissioner Donnie Meeks, Berrien County Commissioner Pantaleo, Paul, Berrien County Representative Gail Patterson-Gladney, Van Buren County Commissioner Payne, Gloria, Berrien County Representative Stauffer, Dick, Berrien County Representative

MEMBERS ABSENT:

DeLong, Don, Cass County Representative Fette, Dan, Berrien County Representative Schueneman, James, Berrien County Representative Stover, Jim, Berrien County Representative Robert Torzynski, Pokagon Band Representative

STAFF PRESENT:

John Egelhaaf, Executive Director Patrice Rose, Office Manager Marcy Hamilton, Deputy Director/Senior Planner

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Don Hanson called the meeting to order at 9:24 a.m. and led those present in the Pledge of Allegiance. Office Manager, Patrice Rose took roll call and a quorum was present.

2. ACCEPTANCE AND/OR REVISION OF CONSENT AGENDA

- a. Meeting Agenda*
- b. Minutes of Commission Meeting, *
- c. Chairman's Report
- d. Treasurer's Report*
- e. Executive Director's Report*

ACCEPTANCE AND/OR REVISION OF MEETING AGENDA

Chair Hanson presented the Agenda. Yemi Akinwale moved to "PULL THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT FROM THE CONSENT AGENDA BUT OTHERWISE ACCEPT THE AGENDA AS AMENDED." Linda Preston seconded.

3. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Director Egelhaaf discussed items from the report. Details were provided on the Ten Cents a Meal program, the Participant Statistical Areas Program with the US Census, and the Regional Prosperity Initiative.

4. PERFECT ATTENDANCE RECOGNITION

Chair Hanson recognized those Board Members that had perfect attendance in 2018. They are; Jim Curran, Teri Sue Freehling, Kristen Gundersen, Don Hanson, Paul Pantaleo, Linda Preston, Ezra Scott and Dick Stauffer.

5. NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

Hanson reported from the Nominating Committee, listing the slate of officers to be; Don Hanson, Chair; Teri Freehling, Vice Chair; Yemi Akinwale, Treasurer; Linda Preston Secretary; Rich Remus, Alternate Treasurer and Kristen Gundersen, Alternate Secretary. Hanson solicited nominations from the floor, there were none. Kurt Doroh moved to "APPROVE THE ELECTION OF OFFICERS", Gail Patterson-Gladney seconded, a roll call vote was taken and the motion carried.

6. SIGNATORY RESOLUTION – 2019-1

Chair Hanson presented a Signatory Resolution, designating signatory responsibilities according to the SWMPC operational policies and procedures. Don Hanson moved to "APPROVE THE SIGNATORY RESOLUTION", Roseann Marchetti seconded, the motion carried.

7. 2019 BUDGET

Director Egelhaaf presented the 2019 Budget, and answered questions. Paul Pantaleo made the motion to "APPROVE THE 2019 BUDGET AS PRESENTED." Yemi Akinwale seconded. A roll call vote followed, the motion carried.

8. BYLAWS AMENDMENT

Egelhaaf gave a summary of an error in the newly approved SWMPC Bylaws that had to do with board member term end dates. The Bylaws currently state that the terms of elected officials begin in even years and the terms of board members who do not hold elective office should begin in odd years. The amendment states the opposite. ARTICLE V:MEMBERSHIP AND REPRESENTATION, Section B. Representation, #5. "All

members who hold elective office shall serve on the commission for two-year terms that begin in odd years." and Section #9. "For all appointed members who do not hold elective office, the term of their appointment shall be two years. Terms for these members should begin in even years."

Jim Curran "MOVED TO APPROVE THE BYLAWS AMENDMENT." Leon Laylin seconded. A roll call vote followed and the motion passed.

9. BOARD MEMBER HANDBOOK

Director Egelhaaf distributed the new Board Member Handbook while, Office Manager, Patrice Rose gave a brief synopsis of what the handbook contains and what additional inserts will be distributed at the next meeting

10. SAW GRANTS - FINDINGS

Deputy Director Marcy Hamilton gave a PowerPoint presentation covering the findings of the SAW Grant work. The presentation covered the two parts of the work, the Lake Michigan Tributaries and Ox Creek. Questions and discussion followed.

11. PUBLIC COMMENT

No public comment was offered.

12. PRIVILEGE OF THE FLOOR

Roseann Marchetti took the opportunity to speak about the Cassopolis Downtown Improvement and the collaboration between the local communities of Edwardsburg and Ontwa Township.

13. ADJOURNMENT

The Chair declared the meeting adjourned at 11:13 a.m.

Respectfully submitted by:

Date: February 20, 2019 K. John Egelhaaf, AICP