

Minutes

Southwest Michigan Planning Commission FULL COMMISSION MEETING Tuesday, February 20, 2024 at 9:30 a.m.

Meeting Held in Person at Van Buren Conference Center

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Marchetti, Roseann, Chair, Cass County Commissioner Doroh, Kurt, Vice Chair, Van Buren County Commissioner Preston, Linda, Secretary, Cass County Representative Remus, Richard, Treasurer, Berrien County Representative Catherman, Rick, Van Buren County Representative DeLong, Don, Cass County Representative Dodd, James, Cass County Representative Durm-Hiatt, Marge, Berrien County Representative Engle, Roger, Van Buren County Representative Freehling, Teri Sue, Berrien County Commissioner Hanson, Sandra, Van Buren County Representative Leary, Tina, Van Buren County Representative Pantaleo, Paul, Berrien County Representative Patterson-Gladney, Gail, Van Buren County Commissioner Sinclair, Kimberly, Alternate Treasurer, Van Buren County Representative Stauffer, Dick, Berrien County Representative Torzynski, Robert, Pokagon Band Representative Tyler, Doug, Cass County Representative Wood, Gary, Berrien County Representative Wuerfel, Julie, Berrien County Commissioner

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Curran, Jim, Berrien County Commissioner Fette, Dan, Berrien County Representative Gundersen, Kristen, Alternate Secretary, Berrien County Representative (awaiting reappointment)

GUESTS PRESENT:

Multhauf, Katie, Market Van Buren

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Roseann Marchetti called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. and led those present in the Pledge of Allegiance. Office Manager, Maria Vettraino took roll call, and a quorum was present.

2. ACCEPTANCE AND/OR REVISION OF CONSENT AGENDA

Chair Roseann Marchetti presented the Consent Agenda. James Dodd moved to "ACCEPT THE CONSENT AGENDA." Gail Patterson-Gladney seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

3. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Director Egelhaaf gave an update on our continued search for a new audit firm to perform our 2023 audit.

Chair Roseann Marchetti complimented Associate Planner, Bekah Schrag for her work on the Materials Management Plan. Richard Remus also complimented Schrag on reaching out for input via social media regarding the redesign and reconstruction of Business Loop 94 in St. Joseph.

Remus asked for an update with the EV Readiness Plan. Director Egelhaaf stated we are looking at best practices to prepare an RFP for a consultant.

Kimberly Sinclair inquired about the status of our Negotiated Indirect Cost Rate Agreement (NICRA). Egelhaaf shared how this is our first year with a NICRA and it has been approved by the U.S. Department of Interior.

Gary Wood noticed new Board members present. Office Manager, Maria Vettraino presented Roger Engle and Kimberly Sinclair from Van Buren County, and each introduced themselves to the Board. Katie Multhauf, an Economic Development Manager with Market Van Buren, was also present and shared her interest in learning about the commission

Linda Preston moved to "ACCEPT THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT." Rick Catherman seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

4. Welch Lackey Award

The annual award for exemplary leadership was given to Van Buren County Commissioner Gail Patterson-Gladney.

5. Perfect Attendance Recognition

Chair Marchetti acknowledged the Board members with perfect attendance in 2023. Those members included: Rick Catherman, Jim Curran, Don DeLong, James Dodd, Kurt Doroh, Kristen Gundersen, Tina Leary, Paul Pantaleo, Janice Petersen, Richard Remus, Robert Torzynski, and Doug Tyler.

6. Per Diem and Profile Forms

Chair Marchetti asked everyone to complete the per diem/profile forms and return them to Office Manager, Maria Vettraino.

7. 2024 SWMPC BUDGET

Director Egelhaaf presented the 2024 SWMPC Budget.

Paul Pantaleo moved to "APPROVE 2024 SWMPC BUDGET." Dick Stauffer seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

8. NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

Vice Chair Doroh proposed the new slate of executive committee officers as follows: Chair – Kurt Doroh; Vice Chair – Jim Curran; Treasurer – Kimberly Sinclair; Alternate Treasurer – Sandra Hanson; Secretary – Linda Preston; Alternate Secretary – Kristen Gundersen. Gail Patterson-Gladney moved to "CLOSE THE SLATE OF OFFICERS AND CAST A ROLL CALL VOTE." James Dodd seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

9. RESOLUTION 2024-1 SIGNATORY RESOLUTION

Chair Marchetti read aloud 2024-1 Signatory Resolution.

Roseann Marchetti moved to "APPROVE RESOLUTION 2024-1 SIGNATORY RESOLUTION." Marge Durem-Hiatt seconded the motion, which carried unanimously by roll call vote.

10. RESOLUTION 2024-2 RECOMMENDED COUNTY CONTRIBUTION

Roseann Marchetti moved to "APPROVE RESOLUTION 2024-2." Rick Catherman seconded the motion, which carried unanimously by roll call vote.

11. RESOLUTION 2024-3 LEASE RENEWAL

Roseann Marchetti moved to "APPROVE RESOLUTION 2024-3 LEASE RENEWAL." Gail Patterson-Gladney seconded the motion, which carried unanimously by roll call vote.

12. PLANNER PRESENTATION

Responding to Changes at the Michigan Infrastructure Office

Associate Planner, Zane Aldrich presented our response to the changes at the Michigan Infrastructure Office. He shared the initial value proposition and how the program changed. Aldrich showed our process for collecting and ranking ideas, and the results of the project submissions. All three submissions were granted, which awarded Benton Harbor technical assistance for Riverview Drive, Berrien County technical assistance for a RAISE grant application, and New Buffalo Township technical assistance for a CRISI application. Aldrich explained how we will prepare for future windows of opportunity, which included a regional survey sent out for all types of project submissions. Questions from the board provided more detail on the new process and the effects of these changes.

13. PUBLIC COMMENT

None

14. PRIVILEGE OF THE FLOOR

Roseann Marchetti thanked everyone for allowing her to serve as Board Chair for the past two years.

Richard Remus shared that today was his last meeting with the Board after seventeen years of service.

15. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Marchetti moved to adjourn the meeting. James Dodd supported the motion. The Chair declared the meeting adjourned at 10:50 am.

Respectfully submitted by:

Date: February 20, 2024 K. John Egelhaaf, AICP